You think you know someone

So, not a Real Time Rant per se, as there has been a sleep and a day that went by, but bear with me.  *** (kinda) Real Time Rant – first a little background, these friends and I have known each other for about 16 years.  They have been with me as my body has degenerated from walking – a drunken gait – hobbling with a walking stick – part-time wheelchair use – full-time wheelchair use, and they’ve heard me rant about, and witnessed themselves, able-bodied people abusing access for the disabled – using the accessible  parking spots, and walking out of the accessible bathrooms.  But it would appear that they view themselves different when it’s them in this situation.  Sophie* and Marcia* (* = name change) have just come back from spending the week with their mum Helga* in Singapore and Hong Kong.  At a girl’s night last night, Marcia (Sophie was sick at home) was telling us all about the holiday over pub dinners (not the best risotto I’ve ever had.  My dad cooks better, without proper cooking lessons, and without being Italian.), and got to the part where they had been to Hong Kong Disneyland and Universal Studios Singapore and how at both places they decided to hire a wheelchair to avoid the queues.

 “************************!!!!!!!!!!!”

I really had to bite my tongue to stop myself from ruining the mood by giving her a piece of my mind.  And had to shovel my lacklustre meal to help swallow my disappointment.  She obviously had not meant to let that detail slip in front of me, because she kept repeating at me “But it’s ok because we know you, and you get it.”  I have no idea why she would think that.  I’ve been to both Disneyland and Universal Studios in California a few times over the years, and each time I’ve come back with stories about the arseholes who do that.  Recently there’s been hoo-hah in the news about that Disneyland having had to change its ‘disabled guests guidelines’ because of the arseholes who do that.  Marcia then went on to try and give details about why doing that had lead to a few ‘bad experiences’ for them.  For example Helga was really heavy to push around; Sophie had lost a food decoration to the wind and couldn’t run after it because she was the wheelchair bound one at the time; oh, and the embarrassment they felt when they hired the chair in the first place at the Disneyland because the guy in the line after them had really needed a chair but they got the last one.  How hard for them. – ***

Leave a Reply

